Please Just Listen


You asked me what is wrong and so I will tell you,
But it doesn’t mean I want you to tell me what to do
I just need you to listen, listen and not advice
You may not like what you hear but I don’t want to tell you any lies
Stop trying to correct me, to undo me, to lecture me
I love you and all but if you keep doing so I might stray away
I might not tell you anymore whenever I don’t feel okay
Weak, faltering, discouraged, yes I might be now
But you have to trust me and allow me to make it on my own somehow
Whenever you make me feel like you need to do something to help
You just make me more afraid; I’m not helpless, I can look after myself
I feel what I feel, no matter how irrational they might seem to be
Don’t pressure me for then I will be forced to pretend that I’m happy
It hurts that you are not with me, but its okay just don’t be against me
Please just listen, please just listen, just listen and let me be.