La Douleur Exquise


Uneven breathing accompanied by a staggering heartbeat
This feels so familiar, I’m suddenly feeling nostalgic
Like a little girl seeing a rainbow for the first time
I feel more than okay, I feel more than just fine

Before it consumes me, I must bid farewell
Or else if I don’t, I might never recover
The effect you have on me is all too consuming
Since then till now, never fading, never changing

No matter how rich or famous or successful I become
In my eyes you will always and forever be “The One”
We may not have a future that we can share and spend together
But I have our past, our memories to treasure forever

We will meet again someday and you will see me differently
No longer an innocent and naive child but a full grown lady
Like how I was before you’d have a glimpse of what could’ve been us
What we both have let go, thinking its best to remain what was

5 thoughts on “La Douleur Exquise

  1. qiquan says:

    I really like the rhythm of the poem. Just a doubt, is a full grown lady, grown? Is abandon our naive childhood, a progress, or just a change? For me, I am always a child to the World.

Leave a Reply

