Thoughts of an Octoberian

The thought that I’m getting closer to reaching my dream excites and scares me at the same time. Doubts circle my head from time to time “What if I don’t make it? What if I’m not good enough?” I shrug the thought every time by telling myself this, “You won’t give up. It’s not going to be easy, you will probably get rejections, but you won’t give up. You are going to do whatever it takes to be good enough, and to make it out there”.
It’s easy for others to tell me that, well you could always try something else if you don’t. What they don’t understand is that I can’t. Being part of the media isn’t just going to be a job for me, it’s my passion. It’s everything I am, and I can’t imagine myself doing something else.
I want a job that I’ll never get tired of doing. A job that touch people’s lives. A job with a purpose, a job that serves the country, and that’s what the media does. It can shape how a nation perceives something. How it frames in the story affects greatly the decisions that the individual read/watched/listened to it makes. It’s a great responsibility.
In my four years of stay in the university, every single project that we have to do for my course have to pass these questions “Is it developmental?” “Who is it for?” “What are your objective/s?” It’s a tedious work and we have to do it right for it isn’t just a project, it really does affect people. We go to people, hear their stories, make an output out of it, give it back to them in hopes that it can be helpful to them, that it can somehow help them help themselves in improving the state that they are in.
I’d like to be part of the media because I’d like to hear more stories. I want to help them tell it to the public, the real scoop, all sides taken in, not just one side of the coin.
I once told a friend that I’d like a job where I get to work, even on holidays, where I’m sometimes forced to get up in the middle of the night, where while everyone is forced to stay at home because of a typhoon, I get to be there, holding a microphone, letting them know what they need to know. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a scaredy cat. So how is it that I know I’m cut for the job? Well, its easy, its because I love people, and when you love something you are going to do everything you can to show it to them. I do it by delivering to them the truth without any icing on top, just the truth, and I’d be swallowing my fear every time it pops up just to get it done.
This is my heart, my soul, my passion, my everything and this is what I hope to do for our country…

Leave a Reply

