My Own Rescue Knight


I hold the key to my own release,
But I keep on letting myself be a captive
The chains of the past tighten itself to my skin
Yet I do not fight it, I do not try to win

While a knife slowly peels off my flesh
I refuse to admit I’m a damsel in distress
It is in pain that I find comfort,
Told myself it is right and not a fault.

There is no one else to blame on this tragedy,
For the one who turned me to a prisoner is me
It is only I that can become my rescuer
My own heart and soul’s defender

There is still hope for a happy ending,
I just need to hold the pen and keep on writing
It’s not too late to turn this all around,
Happiness is just out there waiting to be found

(C) Joan Miranda

3 thoughts on “My Own Rescue Knight

Leave a Reply

