The Last Love Letter


I shouldn’t be here. Sitting here, waiting, pondering, it will only make things harder.It would only make things worse, yet I cannot shake the feeling that this is where I should be. Right here in my usual spot, this is where I need to be right now.
Last night, I dreamt about you again. More specifically, I dreamt about us. It was everything I wanted. It was the perfect scene, and if I could, I wouldn’t have mind staying there forever. It was YOU, all the things that made me fell in love with you. Your corny jokes, the way you smile, the way you talk, my brain knew you all too well.It made me hopeful, it made me scared.
In reality, it wasn’t even a possibility. It’s like racing against the speed of light, crazy and impossible. You are a fascinating being. You keep me amaze at a level I could not comprehend myself. No matter what you say, it seems my eyes cannot be averted. You are the only thing that it can see.
I miss January, the month that we started getting closer. The month where I felt that we were close. It was the start of everything. It was beautiful and simply magical. I have no idea whether I just expected too much or you just really drifted away. What happened? What made the scene change? I tried staying away but every waking moment that I spend without hearing from you just feels empty.
We are friends, or at least we were and so I tried my hardest to resist the growing emotion inside of me. Problem is, there is no stopping it. It just keeps on getting stronger, with or without you by my side.
Now comes the time where pretending is no longer possible. I can no longer stay and be your friend. I want to stay, I wish I could but it will only hurt us both. Goodbye my friend, goodbye my love. The memories we shared together shall forever be etched on my heart.

(C) Joan Miranda

10 thoughts on “The Last Love Letter

  1. jymiely says:

    been there before, yeah I knew the feeling…one sided love is a tearing experience, for your only way to rebreath the feeling is through unsent love letters..steesh πŸ™‚

      • jymiely says:

        you will, i know that..before I met my husband, I’ve been in a relationship with my best friend, it lasted for less than two months. he dumped me (and that sucks because he wasn’t even handsome at all!). I am very thankful it happened because I met the one of the most beautiful man in the world πŸ™‚

        (sorry, I punched out my love story ehhe πŸ™‚

      • LilMissJoan says:

        No prob…:) it’s nice to hear another’s tale…:)
        Well I just turned 20 four days ago.
        I had only one boyfriend for three years and six months but he was a jerk and I’ve been scared of trusting ever since… It’s been two years and it’s only just now that I was able to find someone my heart cannot simply pass on loving… unfortunately, we cannot be, he is a great guy though…:) I’m just hoping the next guy i choose will not only be as great as this guy but will also love me back hahaha…

      • jymiely says:

        yes of course..that long??steesh that really sucks I know right…could I give a pint of advice? Don’t strain yourself looking for that right guy, he will simply land on your toes when the right time comes..yeah I know it sounds very cliche, but as soon as you experience the “real” life, you’ll know what I was talking about… and one more thing, follow your parents, they REAAALLY know what they are talking about…as people in our country always say:” Papunta ka pa lang, pabalik na ko.” hehe πŸ™‚

      • LilMissJoan says:

        I’m not really close to my parents…
        I don’t even get to spend much time at home being that I’m attending a university and leaving in a dorm
        Still, I’m okay. I learned to be independent and strong…:)
        Yes I shall just let things be and let God lead the way. Thy heart shall beat in its rightful time…:)

Leave a Reply

