Breaking out of cowardice


Hiding in the shadows of my fears,
It brings me nothing but salty tears
Walking past your usual route,
Wondering when I can reveal the truth.

My heart’s contracting,
Preventing me from breathing
Tortured by the hell of my own making
No one else to blame why my heart is aching

I’m shaking but I’ll take the risk
And just maybe God will grant me my wish
If He won’t then at least I tried,
Maybe the best thing I am yet to find.

To know the answer I have to ask,
To faith and hope, I must trust
Close my eyes and take a deep breath,
For regret I refuse to make.

23 thoughts on “Breaking out of cowardice

  1. RKHouse says:

    Great picture to go with this lovely poem. I so empthasize with the little girl half hiding behind the corner. I so hope that when she overcame her fears that she got the answer that she wanted and deserves. I was a shy little boy and never seemed to come up with the courage of this little girl, I just stayed hiding behind the wall.

    • LilMissJoan says:

      I hope so too, but sometimes it seems like “Why bother ask? You already know you are not going to get the answer you want. You will end up in tears…” but I don’t know I’m still going back and forth as to whether i should do it…:)

  2. RKHouse says:

    Taking a risk is hard. But perhaps, it is better to know the truth. Maybe your friend has similar unspoken feelings for you. Or maybe it is better to have the tears and move on, if he doesn’t. His loss, I think.

    And while you are moving on with red eyes and tears, you just might bump into the next guy that has all the checks on your checklist. And he might gently dry your tears and then ask you to go for a walk with him with a smile that warms your tender broken heart.

    My best wishes and prayers for you whatever you decide to do.

    • LilMissJoan says:

      Among all my posts, this is the most popular, and I still find myself wondering at times “Why this?”
      What’s with this poem, is it the picture hahaha…
      But thanks, it was just me being honest and open and ready to go after my heart but sadly as the poems after this reflect, I didn’t get the guy but hey I survived…:)

      • Indira says:

        There are so many want to break out of cowardice,but how many succeed. That’s why they like if someone is successful. Image is also very apt. Try again.

      • LilMissJoan says:

        Well what I was a coward about was telling the guy I like my feelings, and I did and now he isn’t speaking to me… I don’t even know if we are still friends. He turned invisible and I never heard from him since then, so I don’t know about trying again, but I still love him, that part my heart doesn’t seem to give up on.. . Hence Society’s Curse poem

      • Indira says:

        And I thought it is our Indian mentality, does he deserve you? Nothing wrong about telling your feelings but if someone does not respects, please move on.

      • LilMissJoan says:

        Well story of my life, but love doesn’t just go away…
        I just wish we can go back to being friends and be okay again someday, I miss him, we used to hang out all the time…:)
        I still believe in love, I know my prince will come and this chapter of my life with him just makes me stronger, a lesson learned…:)

Leave a Reply

