Table for Two


There’s a light emanating from your skin,
From the beauty bursting from within
One smile can take away the weight of the world,
This secret of mine is dying to unfold.

Why don’t we hit pause and stay here for a while
Let me gather my strength and look you in the eye,
Inside me is a feeling that keeps on getting stronger,
With a warmth that can survive the coldest winter

The question now is, is this the perfect timing
From miles away, you could hear my heart beating
Nervous, excited to say those three magic words
Wishing that your hands I could someday hold.

You may reject my emotions but I’ll say it nonetheless
Hearing it straight from your lips is probably the best
Than predict my own failure and down myself instead
Make my own ending and not just copy what I’ve read

13 thoughts on “Table for Two

  1. Lagos says:

    If this were me I would probably stop on the third line since I wouldn’t be able to come up with anything symmetrical with the last word in the first line.

  2. Lagos says:

    No no! your work is perfect I was just saying that if I ever wrote anything similar to this I wouldn’t be able to finish it because of my rhyming disabilities.

    • LilMissJoan says:

      Oooh but I did switch the stanzas, would you mind looking which looked better the previous one or this one where I switched them? Please and thank you

    • LilMissJoan says:

      Sometimes other people’s opinion can help an artist improve something… It’s kind of weird for you to say “artist”. I don’t consider myself one, I just really love making poems…:)

      • Lagos says:

        Then you must accept the title as an artist then. For me an art is something out of the streamline of life. Something that should not make sense but in some way does. And that’s what you’re doing. You have a talent that not everyone can do.

      • LilMissJoan says:

        That’s sweet of you thank you…:)
        Anyways are you a Filipino?
        Do you the term Lagos means lake?
        Is there a chance you living in San Pablo?

      • Lagos says:

        I don’t know I just got the word from my grandparents when I was talking to them about starting a blog. It came from the phrase “Lagos ng Buhay” or “Flow of Life.”

  3. partisi kantor says:

    This is very interesting, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and stay up for searching for extra of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

  4. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

