Tomorrow Happened Yesterday.

This poem is seeking advice… Please do tell me what I must do..
I’m paralyzed by the situation…
.

In his face radiates a glow that only love could bring,
Have I waited too long to confess what I’m feeling?
It is a not lie when I say that for him I am happy,
But I cannot deny that my heart twitch and I felt a bit lonely.

I feel like chasing time and I cannot hold it any longer,
My emotions are bursting and pulling me under,
There is no more going back and forth,
I am now certain that my heart he holds.

The question that lies now is whether or not in love I should still succumb.
Should I risk the friendship and just let things fall where it should?
Tear are now streaming from my face,
For this realization I can never erase.

Am I prepared to face the possible consequences,
To put a period on unfinished sentences,
Even though in the end it might mean losing him,
And everything that comes in between…

15 thoughts on “Tomorrow Happened Yesterday.

  1. Daughter of the Moon says:

    This is a wonderful piece because it is raw and honest. In your rewrite though i wouldsuggest taking out the talking points like “i feel” “i felt” and the direct questions “should i” etc. these are the thoughts that led the lines to be written, but their just the leading thoughts and the lines of poetry are inside. When you cut the leads the poem will fill itself as sharp, poignant like the emotion present & more powerful. Also, i love your third to last line about unfinished sentences. It is very witty and a great metaphor as well. Use that as your last line, cut the next two which are explaining. Trust your reader, you dont need to spoon feed them. Your words are very strong, the hardest thing a writer can do is cut the explanation and leads and trust the terse phrases but it makes it great. Thanks for sharing this i hope i dont sound too critical, i really think you have talent going for you which is why i wanted to help you in the editing process, us writers gotta stick together.
    All the best,
    Jes Black

  2. demonslayer0715 says:

    Thank you for your comment, I really do appreciate it.
    Actually, I wrote this the instant I was typing it on my blog, so I haven’t had time to edit and really contemplate the thought. It was just like word vomit, I have to let it out before it consumes my thoughts too much and before it fades away…
    Will do next time, thanks so much, also the advice that I meant was actually what to do about my situation with my friend that I like, any ideas?

  3. David Eric Cummins says:

    My advice: If you truly love someone- take the chance. Yes, there may be pain if it doesn’t work out, but you’ll never know what could have been if you keep silent. And the pain of regret if you do nothing and let that person slip away can be even worse.
    Good luck! πŸ™‚

  4. Daughter of the Moon says:

    I agree with David, Take a deep breath, close your eyes & tell yourself something empowering, whatever works for you. Even if you don’t believe it, the more often you say nice things to yourself the more often you believe them & soon you won’t feel the same way- like you’re not good enough or whatever negative thought that’s leading your shyness. You’re good enough, tell yourself I said so πŸ˜‰ Good luck with the conversation, & above all here’s something that i have to do too for me: putting things in perspective…(no matter how much emotion is around it, I don’t mean to belittle it) remember that it’s just a conversation, so no matter how it goes it won’t make or break you: because you’re worth more than judgement can do justice.

  5. Rad change says:

    Sounds like a chance you should take! You voice concern that the friendship might end but what if in declaring your feelings you find the love of your life. I’d give it a go! Especially if he has the qualities from your list. God Bless!

    • LilMissJoan says:

      Oh Yes He Has! He loves God, loves reading, we enjoy the same type of music, he is an intellectual, he has a sense of humor, good looks and a stable job. He is just perfect, I wrote him a confession but then I asked him not to say anything coz I just want to tell him my feelings and when we next saw each other it was like there wasn’t any letter that happened…

      • Ceelyn Sy says:

        i was looking for poetic blogs with real substance. and you happened to get my attention. nicely done. keep it up. i like your spontaneity while writing. that’s a real big plus you’ve got there.
        about your situation, well, the decision is still yours. if you do want to let go of the friendship and yet pursue something more than that, then go for it! πŸ˜‰
        if not, then don’t ever regret that. don’t make the mistake I made, because you will only feel helpless in the end of not doing what you did not do. besides, wouldn’t it feel better if you know you tried? good luck! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

