Catching the Moon

They keep on telling me he likes me, but I cannot let myself believe. I cannot have false hopes for it would only lead to the breaking of my heart. I’m lying to myself every time that I say that I do not feel anything for him, but I have to. Somehow I believe that if I can convince myself of that lie that maybe one day it will be real and I won’t get hurt anymore. If it was just me, I would have told him long ago what I truly felt but I can’t…

Forgive me if my friends seem to know you well,
It’s just you are a story I never tire to tell,
Although it is just your picture that they have met
They have some assumptions as to where your heart is set

Somehow they have it in their mind that to me you are attracted
They would not believe that you are just kind-hearted
Aiming for your love is throwing a rock at the moon,
Impossible and a game designed only for a fool.

A wish upon a star I dare not make,
For then I would only hope and my heart will break
Why would you even think of looking on my direction
When you have thousands of girls craving for your attention?

Every part of you, I admire
To win your heart is my secret desire
Yet I must stop myself from feeling before I go way to deep
But sometimes I think its too late and all I could do is weep.

One thought on “Catching the Moon

  1. Daughter of the Moon says:

    “Forgive me if my friends seem to know you well,
    It’s just you are a story I never tire to tell,” this is a perfect couplet & loaded with expression & meaning =) great poetry in the works, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

